Day special schools for students with high needs

Special schools give support to students who have high needs. There are two kinds of special schools: day schools and residential schools.

Day special schools offer specialist teaching to students who have a high level of need. They teach students from years 1 to 13.

A Section 9 agreement allows students to enrol in a special school or regional health school.

Entering into a Section 9 agreement(external link)

As well as having a base school, many day schools have satellite classes. These classes are in regular schools so students can get the specialist teaching they need in a regular school environment.

Some day special schools also have an itinerant teaching service (also called outreach), where a teacher moves between schools to support students. This means that students can be enrolled at their local school and receive specialist teaching support from the special school.

Day special schools in New Zealand by region

Learn about day special schools in your region from this list of websites. Email contacts are given where there is no website.


Blomfield Special School and Resource Centre(external link) – Whangarei


Arohanui Special School(external link) – Te Atatu South

Central Auckland Specialist School(external link) – Central Auckland 

Mt Richmond School(external link) – Otahuhu

Oaklynn Special School(external link) – New Lynn

Parkside School(external link) – Pukekohe

Rosehill School(external link) – Papakura

Sir Keith Park School(external link) – Mangere

Sommerville School(external link) – Panmure

Wairau Valley School(external link) – Glenfield

Wilson School(external link) – Takapuna


Hamilton North School(external link)

Patricia Ave School(external link)


Goldfields School(external link) – Paeroa

Bay of Plenty

Kaka Street Special School(external link) – Tauranga

Kea Street Specialist School(external link) – Rotorua

Hawke’s Bay

Fairhaven School(external link) – Napier

Kowhai School(external link) – Hastings


Arahunga Schoo(external link)l – Wanganui 


Kimi Ora School(external link) 

Mahinawa Specialist School(external link) (previously Kapi-Mana) – Porirua 


Maitai School(external link) 


Allenvale Special School and Resource Centre(external link) 

Ferndale School(external link)

Waitaha Learning Centre(external link)


Sara Cohen School(external link) – Dunedin


Ruru Special School(external link) – Invercargill 


Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback