Education (Teaching Council of Aotearoa New Zealand) Amendment Act 2018

The Education (Teaching Council of Aotearoa New Zealand) Amendment Act received Royal assent on 28 September 2018. The Act changes the name of the Education Council to the Teaching Council of Aotearoa New Zealand.

Changes to the elected council

The Amendment Act also increases the number of council members from 9 to 13,  with 7 registered teachers — including early childhood sector leaders and principals — to be directly elected by their peers, and 6 members appointed by the Minister of Education.

The elected members will comprise:

  • an early childhood sector teacher, elected by early childhood teachers
  • a primary sector teacher, elected by primary teachers
  • a secondary sector teacher, elected by secondary teachers
  • a teacher educator, elected by registered teachers working in the fields of initial and ongoing teacher education
  • a principal representing the primary sector, elected by principals from that sector
  • a principal representing the secondary sector, elected by principals from that sector
  • an early childhood education service leader representing the early childhood sector, elected by leaders from that sector.

Each of the elected members must be a registered teacher holding a current practising certificate, except the teacher educator, who need not hold a current practising certificate but must:

  • be a registered teacher; and
  • have 5 or more years of experience in the field of initial teacher education or ongoing teacher education, or both; and
  • be currently working in one of those fields.

The Act provides that the Minister retains the power to appoint 6 members of the Council, with one of these members being appointed after consultation with parents and community interest groups. This would enable the Minister to ensure there is sufficient governance and specialist expertise in areas such as finance and understanding of the partnership principles of the Treaty of Waitangi.

The chair would be appointed by the Minister from either the elected or appointed members.

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback