Winners of the Battle of Passchendaele school competition announced

Ten students will fly to Belgium to attend the 100th anniversary commemorations for the Battle of Passchendaele after being announced as winners of the student competition.

The Battle of Passchendaele competition, which is organised by the Ministry of Education in partnership with the Fields of Remembrance Trust and the Passchendaele Society, saw the winners use digital technologies to successfully develop a curriculum resource about the Battle of Passchendaele.

The Panel of Judges, Chaired by Dame Karen Sewell, Chair of Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu, said they were very impressed by the high quality of the entries, the thought that went into them, the range of ideas and methods, the innovative use of digital technology and the consideration of other perspectives.

The winners are:

Rotorua Girls’ High School, Rotorua

Alyssa Mae Pineda, Kayla Kautai, Mairaatea Mohi, Atawhai Ngatai and Keighley Jones

St Margaret’s College, Christchurch

Alexandra Lay 

St Paul’s Collegiate, Hamilton

Dylan Woodhouse, Tony Wu, Lucy Tustin and Conor Horrigan

The winners were able to incorporate interactive elements such as social media and thought provoking questions into their websites. The winning entries can be used by students in Years 7 to 10 as a curriculum resource.  

The Panel of Judges also included Paula Hay, Education Specialist from The Network for Learning Ltd, Iain MacKenzie, President of the Passchendaele Society and Matthew Tonks, Senior Digital Adviser from the Ministry of Culture and Heritage WW100 Programme Office.

The winners will travel to Belgium on 7 October 2017 to attend the National Commemoration Service at the Tyne Cot Cemetery near Zonnebeke in West Flanders on 12 October. They will also attend the opening of the New Zealand Memorial and Garden in Belgium, visit Paris and tour the Anne Frank House in Amsterdam before returning to New Zealand. 


Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback