Impact of Cyclone Gita forces 95 school/ECEs to close

Updated at 4.15pm

More than 90 schools and ECE services in Taranaki and two schools in Nelson and Marlborough closed today following severe weather earlier this week.

The closures impact more than 15,000 students and pre-schoolers.

A local State of Emergency remains in place for New Plymouth.

Our staff are providing support where needed and it will be available for as long as it’s necessary.  

In the meantime, it’s important that parents and whānau check their school or early childhood service websites or Facebook pages, or contact them directly to get the most up to date information.

Closed schools include:

  • Bell Block School
  • Brooklyn School (Motueka)
  • Central School
  • Devon Intermediate
  • Fitzroy School
  • Francis Douglas Memorial College
  • Frankley School
  • Highlands Intermediate
  • Kaimata School
  • Lepperton School
  • Mangorei School
  • Manukorihi Intermediate
  • Marco School
  • Marfell School
  • Merrilands School
  • Moturoa School
  • New Plymouth Boys' High School
  • New Plymouth Girls' High School
  • New Plymouth S.D.A. School
  • Ngaere School
  • Oakura School
  • Omata School
  • Puketapu School
  • Sacred Heart Girls' College (New Plymouth)
  • Spotswood College
  • Spotswood Primary School
  • St John Bosco School (New Plymouth)
  • St Joseph's School (New Plymouth)
  • St Joseph's School (Patea)
  • St Joseph's School (Waitara)
  • St Patrick's School (Kaponga)
  • St Pius X School (New Plymouth)
  • Te Kura Kaupapa Maori o Tamarongo
  • Te Pi'ipi'inga Kākano mai i Rangiātea Kura Kaupapa
  • Tikorangi School
  • Toko School
  • Urenui School
  • Vogeltown School
  • Wairau Valley School (Blenheim)
  • Waitara Central School
  • Waitara East School
  • Waitara High School
  • Welbourn School
  • West End Te Kura Ō Mōrere
  • Westown School
  • Woodleigh School

Early learning centres that have closed include:

  • Fitzroy Kindergarten
  • Puketapu Kindergarten
  • Ngamotu Kindergarten
  • Waitara Central Kindergarten
  • Orapa Kindergarten
  • Westown Kindergarten
  • Eltham Kindergarten
  • Patea Kindergarten
  • Tawhiti Kindergarten
  • Kaitake Kindergarten
  • ABC New Plymouth
  • Au Pair Link Taranaki 1
  • Learning Adventures Waitara
  • Topkids Mangorei
  • Rising Stars Preschool
  • Lollipops Bell Block
  • Henwood Kindy
  • PORSE New Plymouth Q2
  • KidsZone Preschool (2013) Ltd
  • Jumpstart School
  • Cherish Childcare
  • Lollipops Aubrey Street
  • Jumpstart Preschool
  • The Cubbyhouse Early Childhood Centre
  • Learning Adventures Mangorei
  • Jumpstart Preschool Rimu
  • Butterfly Preschool
  • Kinderen (B) Daycare Centre
  • Kinderen (A) Daycare Centre
  • Seedlings Nature Kindergarten
  • Country Footsteps
  • Urenui Playcentre
  • Tikorangi Playcentre
  • Opunake Playcentre
  • New Plymouth Playcentre
  • Oakura Playcentre
  • Waitara Playcentre
  • ABC Educare
  • Topkids Lemon
  • Sophia Preschool
  • Piccolo Preschool
  • Waitara & District Community Childcare Centre Inc.
  • New Plymouth YMCA Childcare Centre
  • Manu Crescent Private Kindergarten
  • Te Kōhanga Reo o Ngā Pekanga
  • Te Kōhanga Reo o Waitara
  • Bell Block Childcare
  • Te Kōhanga Reo o Te Kōpae Tamariki Kia Ū Te Reo

Media queries to


Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback