Exchange Programmes which meet the Code of Practice for International Students

Many organisations arrange exchange programmes for international students. The Code of Practice for the Pastoral Care of International Students sets out minimum standards, good practice and complaints procedures which make sure all international students in New Zealand are properly cared for.

Exchange Programme Organisations

New Zealand government-approved exchange programme organisations are not eligible to be signatories to the Code of Practice, but they must meet its pastoral care standards. This makes sure that students who come into New Zealand on approved exchange schemes receive the same standard of pastoral care as any other international student.

The Ministry of Education is responsible for assessing which organisations meet the Code of Practice pastoral care standards. We have approved the following exchange programme organisations:

Provider-to-provider exchanges

Individual provider exchanges, eg school-to-school, can only be operated by Code Signatory schools or tertiary providers. Individuals, schools or institutions which are Code Signatories must be approved by the Ministry to operate an exchange programme.

Code Signatory schools approved to operate Exchange Programmes, as at 16 April 2015

  • Ashburton College
  • Auckland Grammar School
  • Avondale College
  • Baradene College of the Sacred Heart
  • Burnside High School
  • Cashmere High School
  • Catholic Cathedral College
  • Central Hawkes Bay College
  • Christchurch Girls' High School
  • Christchurch Rudolph Steiner School
  • Christ's College
  • Darfield High School
  • Dunstan High School
  • Garin College
  • Geraldine High School
  • Hastings Girls' High School
  • Iona College
  • James Hargest College
  • Kaiapoi High School
  • Kristin School
  • Lindisfarne College
  • Mahurangi College
  • Michael Park School
  • Motueka High School
  • Mount Maunganui College
  • Mount Roskill Grammar School
  • Nayland College
  • Nelson College for Girls
  • New Plymouth Boys' High School
  • New Plymouth Girls' High School
  • Orewa College
  • Otago Girls High School
  • Otamatea High School
  • Paraparaumu College
  • Pompalier Catholic College
  • Pukekohe High School
  • Queen Margaret College
  • Rangi Ruru Girls' School
  • Rangitoto College
  • Raphael House Rudolph Steiner Area School
  • Rathkeale College
  • Sacred Heart College, Lower Hutt
  • Sacred Heart Girls' College, Hamilton
  • Samuel Marsden Collegiate School
  • Scots College
  • Shirley Boys' High School
  • Southland Girls' High School
  • St Andrew's College
  • St Catherine's College
  • St Cuthbert's College
  • St Hilda's College
  • St Kevin's College
  • St Margaret's College
  • St Mary's College, Wellington
  • St Mary's Diocesan School, Stratford
  • St Matthew's Collegiate School
  • St Peter's College Gore
  • St Peter's College Cambridge
  • Taikura Rudolf Steiner School
  • Takapuna Grammar School
  • Taumarunui High School
  • Tauranga Girls' College
  • Timaru Boys' High School
  • Timaru Girls' High School
  • Waikato Diocesan School for Girls
  • Waimate High School
  • Waiuku College
  • Wanganui Collegiate School
  • Westlake Girls' High School
  • Woodford House

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback