13 new Communities of Learning announced

Communities bring greater innovation and creativity to teaching and learning for our students.

The $359 million Investment in Educational Success initiative, is starting to pay dividends as more teachers, education leaders and learners come together in Communities of Learning | Kāhui Ako, to raise the quality of teaching and educational success for all their children and young people.

Today 13 new Communities of Learning were approved, adding another 23,000 children and young people to the Ministry’s ever-expanding network for education excellence and enhanced student progress. There are now 210 Communities, involving more than 580,000 children and young people, or two-thirds of all learners, across the country. There has also been an increase in early learning services’ participation in Communities of Learning. There are now 279 services in Communities of Learning – up from 184 since April of this year.

Communities of Learning are finding innovative and creative ways to improve teaching practice and transitions from early learning to schooling and in the setting of new achievement and wellbeing targets for their students.

There are now almost 1400 teachers and leaders in the new leadership positions made possible with Communities of Learning. And over 100 communities are working with expert partners to analyse their data, design robust high quality achievement challenges, and to develop action plans to ensure the success of more and more of their children and young people.

The 13 new Communities of Learning announced today are in Tai Tokerau, Auckland, Waikato, Hawke’s Bay, Wellington, Canterbury and Otago.

For more information and to read about what Communities of Learning have achieved, click here [PDF, 147 KB].

For a map of our Communities of Learning, click here [PDF, 142 KB].

New Communities of Learning│Kāhui Ako: Names and Member Types [PDF, 159 KB]

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback