Approved Charter Schools

Following establishment, Partnership schools kura hourua (charter schools) must report quarterly to the Minister of Education.

The Ministry is currently working to implement the Government’s policy to remove the charter school model from the education system.  All existing charter schools have applied to become part of the wider state school system. Decisions on these applications are expected by the end of July 2018.

In addition to reporting quarterly to the Minister of Education, charter schools are subject to regular ERO reviews, as well as annual reviews of their rolls and funding.

Key documents in relation to each charter school are published here. These include contracts and variations, reports, and documents relating to operational matters that might arise from time to time.

Operational payments and rolls

Approved Charter Schools

Middle School West Auckland (Sponsor: Villa Education Trust)

Pacific Advance Senior School (Sponsor: Pacific Peoples Advancement Trust)

The Rise UP Academy (Sponsor: The Rise UP Trust)

South Auckland Middle School (Sponsor: Villa Education Trust)

Te Kāpehu Whetū – Teina (Sponsor: He Puna Marama Charitable Trust)

Te Kura Hourua o Whangarei Terenga Paraoa (Sponsor: He Puna Marama Charitable Trust)

Te Kura Māori o Waatea (Sponsor: Manukau Urban Māori Authority)

Te Pūmanawa o te Wairua (Sponsor: Ngā Parirau Mātauranga Charitable Trust)

Te Pumanawa o te Wairua that this contract was terminated by the Minister of Education, and the school closed on 7 March 2016.



Application phase documents

Documents relating to ongoing operations

Vanguard Military School (Sponsor: Advance Training Group Limited)

Te Kōpuku High (Sponsor: Kia Ata Mai Educational Trust)

Te Aratika Academy (Sponsor: Trustees of Te Aratika Charitable Trust)

Te Rangihakahaka Centre for Science and Technology (Sponsor: Te Rangihakahaka Company Limited)

Blue Light Senior Boys High School (Sponsor: Blue Light Ventures Incorporated)

City Senior School (Sponsor: City Senior School Limited)

Vanguard Military School Christchurch (Sponsor: Vanguard Military School Christchurch Limited)

Tūranga Tangata Rite (Sponsor: Te Rūnanga o Tūranganui a Kiwa)

Waatea High (Sponsor: Te Whare Wānanga o MUMA Limited)

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback