Technical Reference Groups

The Technical Reference Groups, and their objectives.

Technical Reference GroupDesign objectives
Curriculum-based per child progress
  • Determine what’s needed to achieve and then to deliver a year’s progress for all learners against the curriculum
  • Move to child based funding (from place based) in early learning
Dealing with disadvantage
  • Replace the decile system
  • Determine the best ways to target funding for learners most at risk of underachievement
Small and Isolated
  • Define the criteria for small and isolated schools and services
  • Consider the role Communities of Learning|Kāhui Ako can play in mitigating the impacts of school size and isolation
  • Ensure the maintenance of school property in the best interests of students and staff
  • See if greater efficiencies can be made in school utilities spending
Using data to improve outcomes
  • To advise on the question of how data on children's progress and achievement can be used to support continuous system improvement for more equitable educational outcomes.

Technical reference group participants

Name - CurriculumSchool or Service
Sarah Martin Stonefields School, Auckland
Nancy Macfarlane Glenholme School
Scott Haines Waimea College
Kaylene MacNee Pinehaven School
Russell Burt Pt England School, Auckland
Watson Ohia Te Wharekura o Ngā Taiātea
Lesley Murrihy Amesbury School, Wellington
Sheryll Ofner Selwyn College
Mary Chamberlain Director of Evaluation Associates & consultant
Heather McRae Diocesan School for Girls
Rowan Brickell (Expert Secretariat)
Cath Rau Te Kōpuku High School
Mike Hollings Te Kura – Correspondence School
Sharon Keen Casebrook Intermediate School
Name – Data to improve outcomesSchool or Service
Tony Kane Kapiti College
Andy Kai Fong Haeata Aranui Community Campus
Lorraine Taylor Lynmore Primary School, Rotorua
Frances Nelson Fairburn School, Otahuhu, Auckland
Irene Cooper Hillcrest School (retired)
Jill Farquharson Auckland Normal Intermediate
Lynda Stuart NZEI
Jack Boyle PPTA
Nori Parata Tolaga Bay Area School
Dr. Gill Thomas Education Technology Ltd, Dunedin
Dr Michael Johnston Victoria University
Arihia Stirling Te Kura Maori o Nga Tapuwae
Tanya Harvey Auckland Kindergarten Association
Fiona Hughes BestStart Educare
Name - DisadvantageSchool or service
Dave Appleyard Rata St School,  Naenae
Allan Vester Edgewater College, Chair Secondary Principals’ Council
Clare Wells Chief Executive Officer, NZ Kindergartens Inc.
Dianne Pollard-Williams Melville Primary School, Hamilton
Richard Edmundson Linwood College, Christchurch
Phil Heeney TKKM o Te Waiu o Ngati Porou
Brendon Morrissey Kaitaia Primary School, Northland
Cathy Chalmers Greenmeadows Intermediate, Auckland
Kararaina Cribb Te Kohanga Reo National Trust
Iain Taylor Manurewa Intermediate School
Name – Small/IsolatedSchool or Service
Susan Bailey Playcentre Federation
Gary Pasco Roxburgh Area School (composite)
Grant Burns Tauraroa Area School
Sean McDermott Bay of Islands International Academy
Lynley Ward Makarora Primary School
Louise Sheeran Piopio College, Waikato Region
Simon Fuller Opunake High School, Taranaki
Martin Mikaere Te Wharekura o Manaia
Te Rahui August-Sutherland Te Whanau-a-Apanui
Henarata Ham Te Kura o Hirangi, Turangi
Sue Higgins Rural Women NZ

Last reviewed: Has this been useful? Give us your feedback